Author Topic: Grav-Chute rules?  (Read 862 times)

Offline DapperAnarchist

  • Grand Lord Inquisitor
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
  • I'm not a Rosicrusian, are you?
    • The Keltani Subsector
Grav-Chute rules?
« on: January 28, 2011, 01:23:26 AM »
Does anyone have any good ideas for that? Would it simply offer the Catfall ability, or would it be better than that? What about the Acrobatic ability?
Questions are a burden to others, answers a burden to oneself.

The Keltani Subsector  My P&M Thread - Most recent, INQ28!

Offline MarcoSkoll

  • Arch Data-Archivist
  • Administrator
  • Grand Lord Inquisitor
  • *****
  • Posts: 4866
  • Time for some thrilling heroics.
Re: Grav-Chute rules?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 01:56:36 AM »
Better than Catfall. A gravchute is pretty much equivalent to a parachute - it just works by reducing gravity rather than increasing drag.

So I couldn't see it being used for Acrobatic (even if you did "hack" it, the Imperial versions are pretty bulky, so still more likely to be a hindrance than an aid).
As far as rules, I'd let it cap a character's fall damage at 5 yards, then allow them to take an S (or perhaps an I) test on landing to avoid even that.

For a disposable version that will burn out after one or two uses, I'd allow only a small Enc penalty, but for a proper reusable military version, it'd be pretty big. Forge World used to have photos of them on their Elysians, but it seems they're now only sold separately so they don't have the two in the same photo for scale reference any more.
S.Sgt Silva Birgen: "Good evening, we're here from the Adeptus Defenestratus."
Captain L. Rollin: "Nonsense. Never heard of it."
Birgen: "Pick a window. I'll demonstrate".

GW's =I= articles