Main Menu

News:

If you are having problems registering, please e-mail theconclaveforum at gmail.com

Lightsabers

Started by Wifstrand, February 12, 2011, 11:34:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wifstrand

So, I'm new in the game. In fact, I'm building my very first Inquisitor. I'm basing him off of Eisenhorn but will try to change him up as much as possible. I wanted to give him a sword so cut off Eisenhorn's staff then wondered what type of sword he should have. I have some brass rod lying around and thought that a rapier would be nice. Then I realized that the handle of Eisenhorn's staff lends itself much more to a lightsaber!

How would one go about doing rules for a lightsaber? I supposed a power sword minus any Bleeding effects would do the trick, to represent the instant cauterizing by the thousands of degrees hot blade.

Whaddoya think, is it stupid?
[r]in great need of:
- Mutant Emissary Fabio head
- Witch Hunter Tyrus (any state)[/r]

DapperAnarchist

One of Kaled's TechPriest characters has a "lightsaber" like weapon - a Sollex Energy Blade, I believe, from the Dark Heresy rules (though obviously adapted for Inquisitor). However, the Star Wars lightsaber usually is thought of as a bit... easy for Inquisitor. Its clean, efficient, and seems to have no negative side effects - not really 40K.
Questions are a burden to others, answers a burden to oneself.

The Keltani Subsector  My P&M Thread - Most recent, INQ28!

MarcoSkoll

No direct imports of lightsabers, please. Dan Abnett more or less wrote Eisenhorn one, and I couldn't see why - or in fact, where the precedent was. (We know that Imperial portable plasma technology is pretty unsafe, but this seemed free of such drawbacks)

As DapperAnarchist says, they're clean, efficient, innately concealable and exceptionally dangerous, but with no downsides. A "regular" power sword is a very powerful weapon, so making something even better is really a bit OTT.