Main Menu

News:

If you are having problems registering, please e-mail theconclaveforum at gmail.com

Grapple pistol rules

Started by Damon, May 21, 2011, 11:08:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Damon

I am relatively new to inquisitor. I Have been playtesting with a few 28mm models for a while and just recently bought my first 54mm characters. I have been browsing the conclave for some time now.

I like the idea of my bounty hunter character having a grapple pistol. I have devised some rough rules for it, which I would love some feedback on. Particularly the rules for firing at a character, which I think are a bit dodgy but not sure how to improve them.

Grapple Pistol (exotic)
May be used to scale walls. Aim to hit using normal BS. If successful, then the hook embeds itself in the wall. The firer can then activate the motor that will pull the firer up at a rate of 10 yards per action. (If over encumbered or carrying another person – rate is halved) Risky action – if failed roll a D6 and consult the table below:

1-2 – Just as the character reaches the top, the hook becomes loose, causing the character to fall the full distance. Firer must test nerve from now on before using the grapple pistol again.
3-4 – Halfway up the ascent, the hook dislodges, causing the character to fall half the distance. Firer must test nerve from now on before using the grapple pistol again.
5-6 – Just as the motor is activated the hook dislodges. No falling damage but the firer must test nerve from now on before using the grapple pistol again.

Range E (max range 30yards) – Dam – 2D6 – 1 Shot – Reload 2* – Weight 20 

Grapple pistol may only be reloaded if the firer is next to the hook and the motor has wound all the line back in. A successful strength test is needed to remove the grappling hook (1 action) then the pistol needs to be reset (1 action)