Main Menu

News:

If you are having problems registering, please e-mail theconclaveforum at gmail.com

Total noob question about semi-auto fire & the efficacy of the Shuriken Pistol

Started by Genghis, March 04, 2016, 07:32:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Genghis

Hi.  My local club is going to start an Inquisitor 28mm campaign shortly & I'll be joining in, which will be my first time playing Inquisitor.  Whilst building my Rogue Trader figure, it dawned on me that the old school plastic Eldar Shuriken Pistol (from the 2nd Ed plastic sprue) would look very cool & add a bit of character.  However, I have some questions about the rules for semi-auto fire & the efficacy of the Shuriken Pistol.  (For reference, I've found the Shuriken Pistol rules in the Eldar pdf in the bulk pack download.)

Firstly, am I correct in my understanding that each semi-auto shot fired as part of a single action takes the full penalty of 10% per shot?  Therefore, a Shuriken Pistol with 4-6 semi-auto shots will be firing at a 40-60% penalty on every shot?

If my understanding is correct, does that not make each shot spectacularly unlikely to actually hit?  For context, my Rogue Trader will have a BS of ~50 (exact figure to be diced for when the campaign starts).  I'm assuming that after applying modifiers, the single round to hit score will have dropped well below 45 (range, target movement, etc).  Given that the minimum number of rounds a Shuriken Pistol can fire is 4, that places me in hoping for the 01-05% score that hits regardless (albeit at that point I can fire 6 shots with no additional penalty).  Even if I spend an action aiming, if the target has walked (-8) & I'm at 10 yds range (-10) – for a single shot score of ~52%, a 4-round burst will be at ~12% to hit, which is an overall of 48% chance of one hit from the burst.  At anything much harder to hit, I'm getting into the >5% 'hail Mary' score to hit, which over a 6 round burst comes to a 30% of one shot hitting.