Main Menu

News:

If you are having problems registering, please e-mail theconclaveforum at gmail.com

Resin casting a railway...

Started by Aurelius 12, March 19, 2011, 10:50:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aurelius 12

Hello chaps,

I'm looking at making several imperial trains/carriages for use as scenery, and it struck me that rather than spending almost £40 a carriage, it would be more prudent to scratch build and cast most of what I want. I'm looking at around 20 carriages of assorted types along with one or two locomotives.

I've never done any resin casting before. I've read a lot of the articles on it, and feel fairly comfortable with using the materials to a point. The thing is I'm pretty stumped as to where I might start!

The main things I have and want to cast are the railway lines, sleepers and the wheelbase/ underside of the rolling stock (which is armoured and slab sided so avoids all the fiddly bits like brakes). The wheelbase is about 15cm long and about 8cm wide from memory.

Does anyone have any suggestions/recommendations about where to buy supplies from and in what quantities? I've looked at a couple of the starter kits, and this one seemed the most promising. That said I've no idea if the material for the mold is suitable, or if it comes in large enough amounts.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
And the Saint did weep when she saw how lost the people were. Seven tears fell upon Gomorrah. Seven tears to wash away their sin. A deluge of heavenly tears drowned their world in an ocean of forgiveness. The people cleansed in a sea of nuclear fire.

Ynek

I get all my mould-making stuff from mbfg resins on eBay.

( an example is shown here: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/RTV-Silicone-Mould-Making-Rubber-1kg-Kit-ShoreA-27-/220432590506?pt=UK_Crafts_Other_Crafts_EH&hash=item3352ce66aa)