Main Menu

News:

If you are having problems registering, please e-mail theconclaveforum at gmail.com

Rogue Trader Verona St. Croix

Started by Van Helser, January 16, 2012, 04:46:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Van Helser

Good afternoon ladies and gentlemen.

I don't know where it went wrong with this model, but what I thought was an excellent concept turned into a mediocre conversion that just never looked right.  The foil cape is the last I'll ever make - it just never had a natural flow to it (I've had more success recently with milliput); the model itself has such a dull pose; she's ended up with a bizarre lean to the right; the sleeves are too bulky...  I could go on.

So, the model's nowhere near my best, and as a result had avoided paint for many, many months.  I have however made a promise to myself to paint more models before starting any more (a rule broken too many times!), so I decided to try and expand on my painting abilities and do something I've never done before: Non-metallic metal.  I plumped for gold, found this tutorial and went for it.

It was a good learning experience, but has shown up my lack of blending abilities, especially around the breastplate, which is lacking in depth almost entirely.  The legs look okay, as does the pendant on the tabard.  I am especially happy with how the combi-weapon turned out though.  I wonder if the techniques in that tutorial weren't really transferable to the larger areas of a 54mm figure - it was advocating some very sharp highlighting, and perhaps I would have turned out better with more time spent on the deeper colours.

The rest of the model was done quickly to a minimal standard. 

Thoughts?  Anyone have any sage advice regarding NMM techniques or know of better articles to read?

Ruaridh

Alyster Wick